Re: South African languages character repertoires, keyboards and

From: Mark Leisher (
Date: Thu Jun 01 2000 - 10:23:21 EDT

>> There are eleven official languages in South Africa at the national
>> level: Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho,
>> siSwati, Xitsonga, Setswana, Tshivenda, isiXhosa and isiZulu.
>> 1- Are all these languages covered by ISO/IEC 10646 (Universal
>> Multiple-Octet Coded Character Set - UCS)? If not, what should SA have
>> to do in regards that all these languages be covered by ISO/IEC 10646?

    [Alain] Does somebody have this information?

Yes, UCS has all of the letters needed. Some of them are constructed with
combining characters. Attached is a small image of the critical characters.
Mark Leisher
Computing Research Lab Not every problem someone has with his
New Mexico State University girlfriend is necessarily due to the
Box 30001, Dept. 3CRL capitalist mode of production.
Las Cruces, NM 88003 -- Herbert Marcuse

Special SA characters.

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.2 : Tue Jul 10 2001 - 17:21:03 EDT