Unicode Frequently Asked Questions


Many of the FAQ questions and answers have been gathered from the Unicode E-mail Distribution Lists and similar sources. The answers may have been edited considerably from what was originally posted.

To credit the original author of the answer, his or her initials are noted in square brackets at the end of the answer, with a link to this page. In particular, we would like to acknowledge the work of Asmus Freytag for designing the style used in the FAQ section of the web site.

AF Asmus Freytag
AJ Apurva Joshi
AP Addison Philips
BM Ben Mitchell
BY Ben Yang
CW Cathy Wissink
CWC Craig Cornelius
DA Debbie Anderson
DB Daniel Biddle
DE Doug Ewell
EH Ed Hart
EM Eric Muller
GR George Rhoten
JA Joan Aliprand
JC John Cowan
JDA Julie D. Allen
JH Josh Hadley
JJ John Jenkins
JS Jungshik Shin
KL Ken Lunde
KP Karl Pentzlin
LM Lisa Moore
MC Marco Cimarosti
MD Mark Davis
MK Mike Ksar
MS Markus Scherer
NL Norbert Lindenberg
OS Otto Stolz
PC Peter Constable
RC Richard Cook
SO Sandra O’Donnell
SM Shwun Mi
SRL Steven R. Loomis
TO Tet Orita